Home / Football / NFL Draft: How have the last nine No. 1 picks fared?
American football on field with goal post in background.

NFL Draft: How have the last nine No. 1 picks fared?

The Arizona Cardinals selected Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Kyler Murray with the No. 1 pick in the 2019 NFL Draft. The Cardinals will hope Murray can lead the franchise forward following three successive seasons of finishing under .500.

The annual NFL Draft always brings to mind those former No. 1 picks that failed to live up to the hype. There are no sure things when it comes to the NFL Draft, or any sports draft, as teams merely select players based on their potential. It is the NFL’s version of the stock market.

Since 2010, there have been a number of No. 1 hits and misses. Which of the last nine No. 1s have lit up the NFL and which have burnt out quickly.

2010 – Sam Bradford – St. Louis Rams

Sam Bradford entered the NFL having won the 2008 Heisman Trophy at Oklahoma University. He followed up the No. 1 pick in 2010 by winning the Rookie of the Year award. Bradford’s career started brightly with the Rams, but an ACL injury in 2013 cut his season short. He suffered an ACL injury again the next preseason, and didn’t play a snap in 2014.

Although he had some success with the Philadelphia Eagles and Minnesota Vikings later on, he has played just five total games in the last two seasons.

2011 – Cam Newton – Carolina Panthers

It is easy to say Cam Newton has been the best NFL No. 1 draft pick over the last decade. Newton won the Rookie of the Year and in 2015 was voted NFL MVP. He also led the Panthers to Super Bowl 50 in 2015, where they were defeated by the Denver Broncos. Newton continues to be one of the best quarterbacks in the NFL.

2012 – Andrew Luck – Stanford Cardinal

Andrew Luck has spent some of his time in the NFL on the sidelines. The quarterback missed parts of 2015 and all of 2017 with injury. Luck has thrown for over 23,000 yards and 171 touchdowns in his career. He has made four Pro Bowls and in 2018 was the league’s Comeback Player of the Year.

2013 – Eric Fisher – Kansas City Chiefs

While the three previous No. 1 picks were quarterbacks, the Kansas City Chiefs decided to take an offensive lineman in 2013. Fisher has been a constant on the Chiefs’ OL since arriving from Central Michigan. He has appeared in 94 games and remains a key part of the offense.

2014 – Jadeveon Clowney – Houston Texans

Jadeveon Clowney is no clown on the defensive side of the ball and quarterbacks around the NFL know that for a fact. The linebacker has 29 career sacks, five forced fumbles, and two defensive touchdowns since arriving in Houston. Clowney recently received the Houston Texans’ Franchise Tag.

2015 – Jameis Winston – Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Selected No. 1 out of Florida State University, Jameis Winston quickly secured the NFL Rookie of the Year award thanks to his 4,012 yards passing, 22 touchdowns, and 58.3 percent pass success rate in 2015. The former Heisman Trophy winner has been stuck with a poor Tampa Bay Buccaneers team and his numbers have dropped since a great 2016 when he tossed 28 scores.

2016 – Jared Goff – Los Angeles Rams

Jared Goff led the Los Angeles Rams to the Super Bowl in 2018-19 as he took the NFL’s top offense into the showpiece game. The Rams may have lost, but Goff has plenty of time to lead them back to the Super Bowl. Goff threw for a career high 4,688 yards and 32 touchdowns in 2018.

2017 – Myles Garrett – Cleveland Browns

It is safe to say drafting defensive end Myles Garrett has improved the Cleveland Browns. Cleveland finished 7-8 last season while posting a 5-2 home record. Garrett played all 16 games and made 13.5 sacks.

2018 – Baker Mayfield – Cleveland Browns

Baker Mayfield was yet another quarterback selection by the Cleveland Browns. The former Heisman Trophy winner at Oklahoma won the NFL Rookie of the Year award as he led the Browns to a 6-7 record. Mayfield threw for 3,725 yards, 27 touchdowns, and completed 63.8 percent of his passes. With Mayfield and Garrett in tow, the Browns may finally be back to the franchise they were in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

About Drew Farmer

Drew Farmer
Drew’s work has appeared on a variety of sports and travel websites. He is also a published author having written the sports/travel book Soccer Travels.

Check Also

Could US soccer star Carli Lloyd could become the first female NFL player

US soccer star Carli Lloyd has been invited to play in an NFL preseason as …